A Letter to Myself

– What do I expect this year to be like. 

– Where do I see myself at the end of this year. 

Being a first year university student I am still very much overwhelmed with the student life. Thinking about what I want out of this year or better, where do I see myself a year from now seems far and into the future. However, having really thought about those two question this week I have come up with a few ‘notes to self’.

University is everything that I have imagined it to be. Freedom, responsibility, workload but more importantly laughter, fun and the making of amazing memories! So, in the mist of all of this what do I expect this year to be like? Challenging, definitely challenging. Being a Journalism and Media student I expect to be thrown into the deep end. I expect to find myself in awkward and even uncomfortable situations. I want to be interviewing people I have never met before, I want to go out into the streets and search for stories and talk to the public. Not only do I want this, I expect this year to bring all of this to me.

When you think of a journalist, what are the first things that come to mind? A lot of people think of words such as ‘annoying’ or ‘intrusive’ and maybe rightly so! In some cases that is true, we find out stories that people sometimes want to keep hidden, we reveal secrets and spiral discussion and even outrage but this is what, in my opinion, makes this career choice so challenging and exciting. I expect university to broaden my horizons and develop my skills but also teach me new things! I want to produce my own work, create a portfolio that I can be proud of, I don’t expect any of this to be easy, but I am up for the challenge. I expect to meet and learn from inspiring lecturers that are exactly where I dream of being. Although I want to be an investigative journalist, I also want to find out and get excited about other forms of journalism!

So yes! I definitely expect this year to be a challenge.

Moving onto the second question ‘Where do you see yourself at the end of this first year?’. This one doesn’t require much thinking because I know exactly where I want to be at the end of this year. First of all I want to finish off this year feeling accomplished and proud. I want to have a network of friends around me that have done the same things as me so together we can be confident enough to call ourselves ‘Journalists’. I also want to develop my writing skills and my writing style because as I have learned in a recent lecture lead by Steve Cropley “If you can’t write you can’t get in!” and I assume he must know his stuff as he is only the editor-in-chief of one of the biggest motoring websites on the net (www.autocar.co.uk). There is a lot more I would want to achieve this year but only the realistic goals get us closer to where we want to be!

So, I hope that a year from now I will read this post back and be able to say that my first year at uni has given me everything I expected it would and I will find myself exactly where I wanted to be.

A. x

7 thoughts on “A Letter to Myself

  1. First one posted many more to come good work I’m sure that you will be able to call yourself a journelist this time next year!!!x

    Like

  2. This is brilliant, always stay who you are, I already see you as a journalist so your half way there.Keep inspiring and everyone else will keep believing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

