My two inspirations

Having already told you that I study Journalism and Media at Coventry university, it feels like the right time to talk about the two women who inspired me to want to be a journalist. Although, I always knew I wanted to write and  I wanted to be a journalist I never exactly knew what it was that I wanted to do. Whether it was to work in print or radio? If I wanted to present or if I wanted to report. I was very unsure until I came across Stacey Dooley and Martyna Wojciechowska.

Stacey Dooley and the series of documentaries in which she investigated current affairs and issues affecting young people around the world on BBC Three was what inspired me to want to become an investigative journalist. I watched those documentaries thinking that I would love to do just that. The experience she gained and the places she travelled to, are incredible and I would love to do the same.

stacey dooleyStacey’s series on the ‘Global War on Drugs’ was packed with fantastic trips all over the world from Britain to Africa, from Asia to the US. All of this was however, to bring awareness and to educate the public on drug use and how so many countries abuse drugs and what impact it has on young people. By exploiting those issues and by putting herself in the midst of these communities she experienced first hand the kind of issues she was documenting on. I find her work and confidence very inspiring. One of the jobs that a journalist should do is educate and inform and being an investigative journalist would give me the opportunity to do just that.

Another woman who has greatly deepened my desire to become a journalist and travel the world is Martyna Wojciechowska, she is a polish journalist, and similarly to Stacey she had her own documentary series “Mission: Martyna”. It was a travel & adventure TV show launched in 2004, in which Martyna  travelled the world with a small production crew, visiting 19 countries on 5 continents. By trying to blend into the life of local people, facing their culture, history and traditions, she gave people knowledge about certain countries and educated them on the issues and affairs that affected the people living there.

martyna wojciechowskaShe has also written her own book ‘Move the Horizon’ and is the editor-in-chief of the National Geographic. Travelling the world for work and being able to put my name on such educative documentaries or even having the chance to publish my own work is an aspiration that I am working towards.

The magazines “National Geographic” and “Traveler” can inspire. They provide emotions. They allow to dream and make dreams come true. They show that with a little luck, humility and perseverance life has no limits.  Who knows, maybe someday one article in “National Geographic” or any other great publication will be signed off with my name.

A. x

(Clicking on the pictures above will take you to individual websites.)

Leave a Reply

