New city, new life?

The beautiful pathway to Coventry cathedral.
~The beautiful pathway to Coventry cathedral.~

“It’s eights months away, that’s ages!”

That’s how I was reassuring my family and friends that university is nothing to even be thinking about because it’s so far in the future. Before I could even prepare myself I was moving into student halls, in a new city, with no-one I knew. Leaving my family and loved ones was the hardest part of the whole process, well so I thought. I was proven wrong, taking care of myself was in fact the hardest. Having to keep to a routine (which is still proving really difficult four weeks in), having to cook for myself, wash my own clothes etc. the usual that everyone always complains about. Although, I find those a big chore and mostly than not I’ll just have a quick bite to eat and reduce my cooking time to a bare minimum, I found that ‘loneliness’ is a real emotion, one I didn’t know actually existed because I have always been close to my family and friends.

An elephant is symbolic of Coventry, you find elephants in all shapes and sizes all around the city, they represent strength. Coventry boasts an elephant on it's coat of arms.
~An elephant is symbolic of Coventry, you find elephants in all shapes and sizes all around the city, they represent strength. Coventry boasts an elephant on it’s coat of arms.~

I don’t mean loneliness as in sadness and total despair I mean, sometimes feeling lonely, not having someone there to spontaneously tell a joke to or catch up on each others day (like me and my sister have made a huge habit of). Coventry is beautiful and I instantly fell in love with it, but who do I have to share that with? My family are the ones I want to show this all to! Walking through the town you see the beautiful ruins of Coventry cathedral. You walk along cobbled streets which remind me so much of back home, Poland. My mum fell in love with it just as much as I did, in fact, my dad did too it’s impossible not to appreciate it.

y3mxNL9IQxQ-6K22F0TUVX-gPbG2VGEFi6G2re4xUZ3MxKqbeMKwzgI0I5nZ9pZp6x1apwn0hglx143lwLjwye2xc_dZF5PQ25r5r9V7bQ0HbhdqgcTuy76ONwZMA03XJPqGBfVTsVSgEF2e4R2c9zGKz9-4tfaJysxk-_lP3qse0s

~The old cathedral~
~The old cathedral~
Cobbled streets are one of my favorite part about Coventry.
~Cobbled streets are one of my favorite part about Coventry.~

Another thing that I absolutely love about Coventry are squirrels! Yes squirrels. They are not afraid of human contact! They get fed by the locals all the time, people come prepared with nuts, they reach down to the ground and before you know it there is one, two, three squirrels scurrying along to get that nut! It’s amazing.

It's so easy to take pictures of them, it's like they're almost posing for the camera.
~It’s so easy to take pictures of them, it’s like they’re almost posing for the camera.~
Me feeding a squirrel.
~Me feeding a squirrel.~

University life is meant to have it’s ups and it’s downs but that doesn’t mean I will enjoy it any less and if any of you are students and sometimes feel like quitting and going home, just remember your end goals and where university could take you!

A. xo

2 thoughts on “New city, new life?

  1. its so gratifying when you embark on a new journey and overcome every obstacle. this is very encouraging even for me to know you are putting yourself out there regardless good or bad…. I share in your happiness very good read

    Like

Leave a Reply

